Generator transfer switch: which switch or inlet fits your generator or power station
Match the switch to your unit’s biggest outlet: a 30 A L14-30R takes a 30 A, 120/240 V kit, a 50 A outlet takes a 50 A switch, and a 120 V TT-30R takes neither. Of the 12 generators and power stations we track whose outlets the maker lists, 6 have the 30 A L14-30R outlet that 6 of the switches, kits and inlet boxes on this page are built for; 4 have only a 120 V TT-30R, which none of them fits (Amazon listings checked October 3, 2026).
Have a licensed electrician install any of these, with a permit. Never feed your house by plugging a generator or power station into a wall outlet. Why
The Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which units are picked. How that works.
Our pick for each job
- 30 A generator or station with an L14-30 outlet: complete kit
Reliance Controls 310CRK ten-circuit transfer switch kit$475 at Amazon - 30 A switch only (your electrician supplies the inlet)
Reliance Controls 306A six-circuit transfer switch$299 at Amazon - 50 A generator
Reliance Controls A510A ten-circuit 50 amp transfer switch$524 at Amazon - Inlet box for an interlock or a switch without one
Reliance Controls PBN30 power inlet box (30 A, L14-30, non-metallic)$59 at Amazon
Each pick follows a stated rule on today’s Amazon prices: 30 A generator or station with an L14-30 outlet: complete kit: the lowest-priced kit with switch, inlet box and cord in the box; 30 A switch only (your electrician supplies the inlet): the lowest-priced 30 A switch; 50 A generator: the lowest-priced 50 A switch; Inlet box for an interlock or a switch without one: the lowest-priced 30 A inlet box. We did not test any of these. Payout never picks.
Every switch, kit and inlet box we matched on Amazon
Each row is one product Amazon sells, matched by the maker’s exact model number in the listing title. Ratings, inlets and circuit counts come from the maker’s catalog or product page. “Fits” means the connector and voltage match a unit we track; your electrician confirms the rest.
| Item | Rating | Inlet | Circuits | Fits these units we track | Source | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Switch kit (switch, inlet box and cord): 310C switch, PB30 outdoor inlet box, 10 ft L14-30 generator cord | 30 A, 125/250V for generators up to 7,500 running watts (maker) | L14-30 | 10 | 6 units we track with an L14-30R outlet, through a 30 A L14-30 cord | Reliance Controls | $475 at Amazon |
Switch kit (switch, inlet box and cord): 306C switch, PBN30 non-metallic outdoor inlet box, 20 ft 30 A generator cord | 30 A, 125/250V for generators up to 7,500 running watts (maker) | L14-30 | 6 | 6 units we track with an L14-30R outlet, through a 30 A L14-30 cord | Reliance Controls | $518 at Amazon |
Switch kit (switch, inlet box and cord): 310C switch, PBN30 non-metallic outdoor inlet box, 20 ft 30 A generator cord | 30 A, 125/250V for generators up to 7,500 running watts (maker) | L14-30 | 10 | 6 units we track with an L14-30R outlet, through a 30 A L14-30 cord | Reliance Controls | $661 at Amazon |
Transfer switch: switch with watt meters and an L14-30 inlet on its face | 30 A, 125/250V | L14-30 | 6 | 6 units we track with an L14-30R outlet, through a 30 A L14-30 cord | Reliance Controls | $299 at Amazon |
Transfer switch: switch with watt meters and a CS6375 inlet on its face | 50 A, 125/250V | CS6375 | 10 | 6 units we track with a 14-50R outlet, through a 50 A cord matched to this inlet | Reliance Controls | $524 at Amazon |
Power inlet box: outdoor inlet box only; needs a transfer switch or interlock | 30 A, 125/250V | L14-30 | not stated | 6 units we track with an L14-30R outlet, through a 30 A L14-30 cord | Reliance Controls | $60 at Amazon |
Power inlet box: outdoor inlet box only; needs a transfer switch or interlock | 30 A, 125/250V | L14-30 | not stated | 6 units we track with an L14-30R outlet, through a 30 A L14-30 cord | Reliance Controls | $59 at Amazon |
Power inlet box: outdoor inlet box only; needs a transfer switch or interlock | 50 A, 125/250V | CS6375 | not stated | 6 units we track with a 14-50R outlet, through a 50 A cord matched to this inlet | Reliance Controls | $111 at Amazon |
Maker's transfer switch: automatic switch; up to 12 circuits at 120 V or 6 at 240 V, each up to 30 A (Jackery) | 30 A, 120/240V | installed at the home's sub-panel by an electrician | 12 | Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus only (Jackery's note) | Jackery | $999 at Amazon |
Maker's home panel: automatic home panel; EcoFlow states a 20 ms switchover | 120/240V | wired into the home's main panel | not stated | EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra, or up to three DELTA Pro 3 units (EcoFlow's page) | EcoFlow | $1,599 at Amazon |
Maker's home panel: home panel for one or two F3800 units | 120/240V | wired into the home's main panel | not stated | Anker SOLIX F3800 and F3800 Plus (Anker's page) | Anker SOLIX | $1,099 at Amazon |
Reliance lists older part numbers that map to its current kits (31410CRK is the 310CRK; 31406CDKN is the 306CDKN) in its own catalog cross-reference. The A in A510A means a factory-fitted 30 A two-pole breaker, per the same catalog. Prices checked October 3, 2026; we keep no price history.
Your generator or power station: what fits
The generators and power stations we track whose outlets the maker lists. Find yours, then read across.
| Your unit | Outlets (maker) | 30 A L14-30 switch or kit | 50 A | Maker panel or switch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Champion 201176 9000W Tri-Fuel Open Frame Inverter generator, 7,250 W | L14-30R, 14-50R | Yes: all 6 30 A L14-30 items above | Yes, with a 50 A cord matched to the inlet | none |
| Champion 201254 5500W Dual Fuel Open Frame Inverter (CARB) generator, 4,000 W | TT-30R | No L14-30R outlet | no 50 A outlet | none |
| Champion 201255 5500W Open Frame Inverter (CARB) generator, 4,000 W | TT-30R | No L14-30R outlet | no 50 A outlet | none |
| Champion 201444 5500W Inverter generator, 4,000 W | TT-30R | No L14-30R outlet | no 50 A outlet | none |
| Champion 201513 6500W Inverter generator, 5,000 W | L14-30R, TT-30R | Yes: all 6 30 A L14-30 items above | no 50 A outlet | none |
| Champion 201598 8500W Wireless Start Tri Fuel Inverter generator, 6,500 W | 14-50R, TT-30R | No L14-30R outlet | Yes, with a 50 A cord matched to the inlet | none |
| FIRMAN WH03242 Dual-Fuel Inverter generator, 3,200 W | TT-30R | No L14-30R outlet | no 50 A outlet | none |
| Westinghouse WGen9500DF generator, 9,500 W | L14-30R, 14-50R | Yes: all 6 30 A L14-30 items above | Yes, with a 50 A cord matched to the inlet | none |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 power station, 6,000 W | L14-30R, 14-50R | Yes: all 6 30 A L14-30 items above | Yes, with a 50 A cord matched to the inlet | Anker SOLIX Home Power Panel |
| BLUETTI Apex 300 Home Battery Backup power station, 3,840 W | TT-30R, 14-50R | No L14-30R outlet | Yes, with a 50 A cord matched to the inlet | none |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 power station, 4,000 W | L14-30R, TT-30R L14-30R rated 120V/240V~16.7A | Yes: all 6 30 A L14-30 items above | no 50 A outlet | EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 2 |
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus power station, 7,200 W | L14-30R, 14-50R | Yes: all 6 30 A L14-30 items above | Yes, with a 50 A cord matched to the inlet | Jackery Smart Transfer Switch |
Never backfeed through a wall outlet
Do not plug a generator or power station into a wall outlet or dryer outlet to power the house. That is backfeeding. Power flows out through your panel onto the utility line, where it can kill a line worker who thinks the line is dead. EcoFlow’s DELTA Pro 3 manual says a transfer switch is essential to isolate backup power from the grid, and Reliance says its inlet box must be used with a transfer switch.
Sources: Reliance Controls: PB30 power inlet box instructions (PDF); EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 user manual: isolation switch notice (PDF); Safe Electricity: generator backfeed.
How to pick one in three steps
Step one is the outlet on your generator or power station. Look at the biggest outlet on the panel. An L14-30R is a round twist-lock outlet rated 30 amps at 120/240 volts. A 14-50R is the large 50 amp, 120/240 volt outlet. A TT-30R is the RV outlet: 30 amps, but 120 volts only. The table above lists these for every unit we track, from the maker's own page or manual.
Step two is the size. A 30 amp, 120/240 volt source can deliver up to 30 amps on each of its two legs, which is 7,200 watts. Reliance rates its 30 amp kits for generators up to 7,500 running watts. A 50 amp source can carry more, and needs a 50 amp switch and inlet. A power station can be smaller than its outlet: the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3's L14-30R is rated 16.7 amps, per EcoFlow's manual, so the station, not the switch, sets the limit.
Step three is how many circuits you want to keep on. Six circuits is enough for a short list: say the fridge, the furnace, a sump pump and some lights. Ten circuits reaches more rooms. Every circuit you add has to fit inside what your generator or station can deliver at once, so more circuits does not mean more power.
Transfer switch, interlock or the maker's own panel
A manual transfer switch mounts beside your breaker panel. Your electrician moves the circuits you picked into it. In an outage you flip each circuit's switch from the utility to the generator. It cannot connect the generator and the grid at the same time. Reliance says its Pro/Tran2 switches eliminate the danger of back-feeding and meet Article 702 of the National Electrical Code.
An interlock kit is a metal plate on your main panel. It lets the generator breaker turn on only when the main breaker is off. It reaches any circuit in the panel, but it must match your panel's brand and model, so we cannot list one kit that fits every home. Your electrician picks it with the inlet box.
A maker's home panel, such as EcoFlow's Smart Home Panel 2 or Anker's Home Power Panel, switches over on its own and talks to the maker's app. It works only with that maker's stations, on the list the maker gives. Jackery's Smart Transfer Switch is the same idea for the Explorer 5000 Plus.
What the electrician does
This is licensed work, and it usually needs a permit. Reliance's own inlet box instructions say installation must be done by a qualified electrician in line with all electrical codes. Here is what you are paying for, so you can read the quote. It is not a set of instructions.
They pull the permit. They mount the switch next to your panel and move the circuits you chose into it. They mount the inlet box on an outside wall where the generator will sit, well away from doors and windows, and run wire from it to the switch. They check the generator's neutral setup, because some units need a different switch or setting. Then the inspector signs it off.
Get the quote before you buy. If your electrician prefers another switch or an interlock, go with that. For cords and UPS mode instead of house wiring, see the four ways to connect a power station.
Not on this page, and why
- Reliance Controls 306CRK six-circuit transfer switch kit: no listing whose title names this exact model came up on Amazon on October 3, 2026.
- Interlock kits: each fits one panel brand and model, so no single kit fits every home.
- Jackery Manual Transfer Switch: Jackery sells it on its own site; we found it on Amazon only in a bundle with a station.
Questions people ask
Do I need a transfer switch to run my house on a generator?
Yes, or an interlock kit with an inlet box. Either one keeps the generator and the grid from being connected at the same time. Without one, power can flow out onto the utility line. Both are installed by a licensed electrician.
Can I install a transfer switch myself?
We do not recommend it and we do not publish instructions. Reliance, a leading maker, says its inlet boxes must be installed by a qualified electrician in line with all electrical codes, and most places require a permit and an inspection.
What size transfer switch do I need for a 7,500 watt generator?
A 30 amp, 120/240 volt switch, if the generator has an L14-30R outlet. Reliance rates its 30 amp kits for generators up to 7,500 running watts. A bigger generator with a 50 amp outlet needs a 50 amp switch and inlet.
Can a portable power station use a generator transfer switch?
Yes, if it has a 120/240 volt L14-30R outlet. Among the stations we track, the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3, Anker SOLIX F3800 and Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus do, per their makers. The station's own output sets how much the switch can carry.
Sources
- Reliance Controls, Transfer Switches product catalog (CATPT2PL), read September 30, 2026
- Reliance Controls, PB30 power inlet box installation instructions, read September 30, 2026
- Jackery, Manual Transfer Switch (120V 30A), read September 30, 2026
- Jackery, Smart Transfer Switch, read September 30, 2026
- EcoFlow, Smart Home Panel 2, read September 30, 2026
- Anker SOLIX, F3800 and Home Power Panel kit, read September 30, 2026
- EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 user manual: isolation switch notice (PDF), read September 30, 2026
- Safe Electricity: generator backfeed, read September 30, 2026
- Ferguson: how to avoid tripping a generator with a bonded neutral
- Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus page (outlets)
- BLUETTI Apex 300 manual (outlets)
- Westinghouse WGen9500DF page (outlets)
- Champion 201176 page (outlets)
- Champion 201513 page (outlets)
- Champion 201598 page (outlets)
- Champion 201444 page (outlets)
- Champion 201255 page (outlets)
- Champion 201254 page (outlets)
- FIRMAN WH03242 page (outlets)
Related: how to connect a power station to your house · power station for a gas furnace · portable generators for home backup · safety rules.
Reliance Controls 310CRK ten-circuit transfer switch kit30 A generator or station with an L14-30 outlet: complete kit
$475 at Amazon