verifiedbackuppowerdata
Generator · listing checked October 3, 2026

Champion 201176 9000W Tri-Fuel Open Frame Inverter

The Champion 201176 9000W Tri-Fuel Open Frame Inverter makes 7,250 W running on gasoline and 6,525 W on propane, and starts motors that need up to 9,000 W.

Outdoors only, far from doors, windows and vents: the exhaust carries carbon monoxide. It has 240-volt output, so it can feed a well pump through a transfer switch.

No Amazon listing for the bare unit passed our name-and-spec check (checked October 3, 2026), so there is no buy link. What we rejected and why.

The numbers behind that

This generator makes up to 7,250 watts and can start motors that briefly need 9,000 watts. It runs on gasoline or propane or natural gas.

It supplies both 120 and 240 volts, so it can run a well pump or other 240-volt equipment through proper transfer equipment. Of the 16 household loads we track, it can handle 16.

It must run outside. The exhaust contains carbon monoxide, which you cannot smell and which kills.

Outdoor use only

This generator burns fuel and produces carbon monoxide. Run it outdoors only, well away from doors, windows and vents, with the exhaust pointed away from the building. Fit working CO alarms indoors. CO Shield; manufacturer states this is not a substitute for an indoor CO alarm

What it can run

LoadDrawStartingVerdict
Wi-Fi router and modem 15–40W 40W Will work
Phone charging and small USB devices 10–40W 40W Will work
A few LED lights 15–80W 80W Will work
Laptop and monitor 45–150W 150W Will work
CPAP 30–100W 100W Will work
Refrigerator/freezer 100–700W 2,900W Will work
Chest freezer 80–500W 2,200W Will work
Gas-furnace blower 400–1,200W 3,500W Will work
Sump pump 700–1,500W 4,500W Will work
Well pump 700–2,000W 6,000W Will work
Window air conditioner 500–3,250W 7,200W Will work
Microwave 800–1,800W 1,800W Will work
Coffee maker 700–1,500W 1,500W Will work
Television 40–250W 250W Will work
Garage door opener 300–800W 1,800W Will work
12 V compressor fridge (camping) 25–110W 320W Will work

Runtime for a generator is a fuel question, not a capacity one — see the table above.

Recall screen

No published recall names this exact model

No CPSC recall in the 2026-10-01 snapshot names this exact model (19 recalls name the brand; none names this model).

This check cannot clear your own unit. Most recalls cover only certain serial numbers. Read the model and serial number off the label on the unit itself, then check the maker's recall page before you use it, sell it, or buy it.

Output

Running output depends on the fuelwatts
on propane5,875 on gasoline7,250

Propane carries less energy per unit than gasoline, so a dual-fuel generator puts out less on gas. Size on the lower figure if propane is your fallback fuel.

Continuous output
7,250W
Starting / surge
9,000W
Output voltage
120/240V
Supplies 240V, so it can run a well pump or other 240V load — through correctly installed transfer equipment, never a cord into an outlet.
Starting method
Recoil, electric
Weight
166 lb

Fuel and runtime

FuelRunningStartingTank Runtime at 50% load
Gasoline 7,250W 9,000W 4.3 gal not stated
Propane (LPG) 6,525W 9,000W not stated not stated
Natural gas 5,875W 9,000W not stated not stated

Runtime is quoted at half load. Your actual runtime falls as load rises, and refuelling a hot generator is itself a burn and fire hazard — let it cool first.

Outlets

  • two 120V 5-20R GFCI duplex
  • 120/240V L14-30R
  • 120/240V 14-50R
  • 12V automotive
  • dual USB adapter

Outlet configuration decides what you can plug in directly. Powering house circuits instead of appliances requires a transfer switch or inlet installed by a licensed electrician.

Buying the right one

No exact base-unit listing resolved

No Amazon listing’s own title states this model’s battery size and output, so we link none. Every candidate we checked is listed below with the reason it was rejected.

Listings we turned down

Searching for this model returns bundles, sibling models and refurbished units alongside the bare product. These are the ones we checked and did not link, with the reason.

ListingPriceWhy it is not this product
Champion 12,500-Watt Electric Start Tri Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator $1,260 Listing's model number is '201438' and the title does not carry the part number '201176'.
Champion 11,000-Watt Remote Start Tri Fuel Portable Inverter Generator $2,000 Listing's model number is '201423' and the title does not carry the part number '201176'.
Champion 8125-Watt Electric Start Tri Fuel Portable Generator $999 Listing's model number is '201169' and the title does not carry the part number '201176'.
Champion 8500-Watt Remote Start Tri Fuel Portable Inverter Generator $1,545 Listing's model number is '201537' and the title does not carry the part number '201176'.
Champion 16,875-Watt Electric Start Tri Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator $2,950 Listing's model number is '201241' and the title does not carry the part number '201176'.

Safety boundary

  • Outdoor only. Carbon monoxide from this unit is lethal and undetectable by smell.
  • Backfeeding is prohibited. Never run a cord from this generator into a wall outlet. It can kill line workers restoring your power.
  • Any connection to building wiring requires a licensed electrician and, in most places, a permit and inspection.
  • Store fuel safely and away from the running unit. Let the engine cool before refuelling.

All safety boundaries →

Source

Champion product page for the 201176 9000W Tri-Fuel Open Frame Inverter

manufacturer product specifications and safety language · captured 2026-08-11 · Manufacturer documented